List of high courts In India:25 high courts in india


List of Total Number of High Courts in India

In India, there are currently 25 high courts. A Chief Justice and any other judges chosen by the President of India make up each High Court. The Indian Constitution's Article 217 addresses the appointment of judges to the country's high courts. According to the requirement, the number of judges varies from Court to Court and from State to State. A Chief Justice and several other judges, whose numbers are set by the President of India, are present in every High Court. ...

Year Name Territorial Jurisdiction Seat & Bench
1862 Bombay Maharashtra Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman Diu Goa Seat: Mumbai   Bench: Panaji, Aurangabad, and Nagpur
1862 Kolkata West Bengal   Andaman & Nicobar islands Seat: Kolkata   Bench: Port Blair
1862 Madras Tamil Nadu   Pondicherry Seat: Chennai   Bench: Madurai
1866 Allahabad Uttar Pradesh Seat: Allahabad   Bench: Lucknow
1884 Karnataka Karnataka Seat: Bengaluru   Bench: Dharwad and Gulbarga
1916 Patna Bihar Patna
1948 Guwahati Assam   Nagaland Mizoram Arunachal Pradesh Seat: Guwahati   Bench: Kohima, Aizawl, and Itanagar
1949 Odisha Odisha Cuttack
1949 Rajasthan Rajasthan Seat: Jodhpur   Bench: Jaipur
1956 Madhya Pradesh Madhya Pradesh Seat: Jabalpur   Bench: Gwalior and Indore
1958 Kerala Kerala & Lakshadweep Ernakulam
1960 Gujarat Gujarat Ahmedabad
1966 Delhi Delhi Delhi
1971 Himachal Pradesh Himachal Pradesh Shimla
1975 Punjab & Haryana Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh Chandigarh
1975 Sikkim Sikkim Gangtok
2000 Chattisgarh Chattisgarh Bilaspur
2000 Uttarakhand Uttarakhand Nainital
2000 Jharkhand Jharkhand Ranchi
2013 Tripura Tripura Agartala
2013 Manipur Manipur Imphal
2013 Meghalaya Meghalaya Shillong
2019 Telangana Telangana Hyderabad
2019 Andhra Pradesh Andhra Pradesh Amravati
2019 Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh   (Note: In 1928, Jammu & Kashmir high court was established. Post-bi-furcation of J&K into two union territories; there is now a common high court.) Jammu and Kashmir   Ladakh

High courts in india

The given qualifications must be fulfilled:

  • The person should have been a Barrister for more than five years 
  • Has been a civil servant for over 10 years along with serving the Zila court for at least 3 years 
  • A person who has been a pleader for over 10 years in any High Court.

Post a Comment

Post a Comment (0)

#buttons=(Accept !) #days=(30)

Our website uses cookies to enhance your experience. Check Now
Accept !